Fri, 24 May, 2024


Sher Bahadur Deuba: The New Prime Minister of Nepal


By Shambhav Acharya

Image Source: The Kathmandu Post

After all the confusion of the politics of our country, the Supreme Court on July 12th,2021 ordered President Bidhya Devi Bhandari to appoint Sher Bahadur Deuba as the PM of Nepal within 28 hours after saying the President’s decision to hold elections in accordance to article 76(7) under the recommendation the then PM Oli was unjust. On 13th July,2021,Sher Bahadur Deuba was sworn in as the Prime Minister of Nepal. 

PM Deuba was appointed under article 76(5) of the constitution of Nepal which states “In cases where the Prime Minister appointed under clause (3) fails to obtain a vote of confidence under clause (4) and any member under clause (2) presents a ground on which he or she can obtain a vote of confidence in the House of Representatives, the President shall appoint such member as the Prime Minister.” Some lawmakers have a concern on the Supreme Court’s decision to appoint PM Sher Bahadur Deuba.There was some vagueness on article 76(5),  which seems to have been taken care of.

However, the PM had to gain the vote of confidence under article 76(6) which states “The Prime Minister appointed under clause (5) must obtain a vote of confidence under clause (4).” On the first day of the House Session, July 18th, 2021 Prime Minister Deuba won the vote of confidence with 165 lawmakers for him, 83 against and one remaining neutral.The fog has finally lifted and the country now has a Prime Minister for the next 18 months until the periodic elections are held.

Deuba had support from 22 lawmakers from UML including the disgruntled Madhav Nepal Faction, 49 lawmakers from the Maoists and 17 lawmakers from the Upendra Yadav-Baburam Bhattarai faction of the Janata Samajwadi Party. 

Deuba was elected Prime Minister on September 12,1995. He served until March 12,1997. His second term was from July 26, 2001 to October 4, 2002. His third term was from June 4, 2004 to February 1, 2005. His 4th term was from June 7, 2017 to February 18, 2018. This is his fifth term.

How will this term turn out? Will the country prosper or will the citizens of the country feel as they have always felt-- “The Leaders change, but the situation remains the same.” 

Total Views: 0