Thu, 18 Jul, 2024

West Indies: The T20 Champions 2016

By Mahan Adhikari

Photo Courtesy:

T20 World Cup 2016 organized in India is now over and West Indies, one of the most deserving teams have emerged victorious. On April 3rd, 2016 West Indies created history by becoming the 1st team to win two world cups correspondingly in both male and female category. West Indies and England faced off each other in the men's finals. Chasing the target of 156, Marlon Samuels ensured the stability of the team after losing quick three wickets. His 85 not out of 66 balls gave hope to the West Indies team but it was Brathwaite who ensured the win with a fantastic show in the last over. With 19 still to win, Brathwaite ended up the game in 19.4 overs with three successive sixes. Entire Stadium erupted with joy as soon as the West Indies won the tournament.

The West Indies women team also won the tournament. Both the men and woman title goes to the unbelievable West Indies and the entire credit goes to their hard performance, belief and hard work. The journey was not as easy as compared to the other teams because the players and the board members had continuous conflicts on certain topic/s. Throughout the tournament, the West Indies team prayed for their achievement and this win for them was emotionally and spiritually very important.

Kudos to the West Indies team (Men/Women)!