Thu, 01 Jun, 2023

Pandas and Shady FC Take the First Ever DWIT Futsal Championship

By Anish Thakuri

Photo Courtesy: Prajjwal Sthapit

Photo: Players Before The Kick Off Of The Final Match

Congratulations to Pandas and Shady FC, who triumphed over their opponents in the First DWIT Futsal Tournament organized by the Sports Club. On 27th September, 2015 the finals of the tournament was organized in the Bhatbhateni Fustal Ground. The event started with Girls final match. A stunning comeback made by Shady FC helped the team defeat the Askio whereas title favorite Spartan were beaten by Pandas in Boys Final. The winners will be awarded the prize in the next all hands meeting.

Highlights of Girls Final Match

Askio: Nikita Gautam (C), Ruby Shrestha, Ashmita Kunuwar, Shreha Regmi

Shady FC: Sharun Sangat (C), Sneha Prajauli, Neesha Dhunguna, Rojina Shrestha, Asmita Bista

Due to the less number of female participants, the sports club made four-a-side match for the Girls Final. As the game began, Askio took an early lead in the match. Nikita Gautam opened the score line for her team. Immediately right after the first goal, she added another goal into her account and doubled the lead of Asiko. Shady FC tried to respond but couldn’t capitalize their chances. The first half ended with 2-0 in favor of Asiko.

In the second half, a spectacular performance from Sneha Parajuli of Shady FC. had a big impact in the game. Her Hattrick resulted in a stunning comeback as they won the fixture by 3-2 and were crowned the First DWIT Girls Fustal Champions.

[metaslider id=8745]

Highlights of Boys Final Match

Spartan: Suman Thapa (C), Anish Thakuri, Ashish Bikram Lamichane, Krishna Chauhan, Alan Khadka, Sabin Pathak

Pandas: Pratik Budathoki (C), Sumit Shrestha, Bimal Gaire, Sayal Baidhya, Dipesh Bhandari, Abshiek Gupta, Arjan Poudel

The most awaited match of the tournament, Spartan vs Pandas was full of drama and thriller. These two teams showed a strong desire and were the truly deserving finalists.

Officials for the match were Muskan Lamsal, Anil Lama & Sanjeev Budha. From the start of the game, Pandas looked more threatening and constantly putting the opposition under pressure. Their early attempts were canceled out by the Spartan Goalkeeper, Anish Thakuri. In the first half, the Spartan missed some golden oppertunities to take a lead over Pandas. Both teams were not able to capitalize their chances as the half ended with 0-0.

In the second half, Pandas looked more desperate than Spartan. Taking the advantage of a weak defense, Sayal Vidya gave a lead for Pandas. But the tournament's best performer Suman Thapa didn’t remain quite for long. He immediately equalized for his team as his powerful volley hit the back of Pandas net. Dipesh Bhandari, one of the promising player of Pandas also made an impact in the game. His sensational performance made the opponent's defense quite ordinary. Bhandari scored 2 goals and ended any sort of remaining hope for Spartan. As the game was near about to end, Sumit Shrestha added another into his account and made it 4-1. Pandas claimed victory and took the championship.

Congratulations to the Winners for writing their names in the History. They truly are the deserving champions. Also, a big Congratulations to the Sports Club as they have achieved the milestone by successfully completing this tournament. Hope we will be able to see such kinds of tournament very often in near future. Well Done Sports Club!!!

For more details about the tournament, visit: