Wed, 14 Apr, 2021

New Standard Set by Club Day 2016-17 for DWIT Clubs

By Sweekriti Gautam

Students eagerly awaiting the announcement of club members at Sagarmatha Hall. 

DWIT Clubs are one of the most exciting things about DWIT. With a total of 11 different clubs, students can choose which club they want to be involved in based on their interest and preference. This year, the college administration limited the total number of members to just seven, and as a result, the selection was very competitive. Every year the college administration opens the application for the presidency of all the clubs. Based on the application, the new club presidents were selected on December 1, 2016. In the previous years, the vice-presidents of the clubs were also selected by the college administration, however, starting this year, this responsibility was given to the presidents. As in previous years, following the appointment of the new presidents and vice-presidents, the membership was announced open by each club. A special informative session was also conducted for the newly admitted Class of 2020 where the club presidents briefed the students about the activities of their respective clubs. Later that week on December 9 the college administration called all the classes off for the second half of the day. The day was officially announced as the Club Day and on this day, all the clubs conducted interviews of the applicants. Each club was designated a space in the Deerwalk premises to conduct the interview. The event created a huge buzz in Deerwalk as the students roamed around in the premises from one club interview to another (the students were allowed to apply for multiple clubs). Later that day, all the students gathered in the Sagarmatha Hall where the club presidents announced the selected members for the year 2016-17. As always the Club Day 2016-17 was full of excitement as well as anxiety. But, the professionalism shown by all the clubs in conducting the interview, and the total number of members being limited to just seven has set new standards for DWIT Clubs. Member list along with their group photos are as follows.

The Artistas

[caption id="attachment_15286" align="aligncenter" width="987"]Club Members of The Artistas From the left: Abhishek Kadariya '19, Bishesh Katwal '20, Shrayash Shrestha '20, Ashmita Thapa '18 (Vice-President), Anushka Maharjan '18 (President); Missing: Sayal Vaidya '18[/caption]

The DeerExpress Club

[caption id="attachment_15276" align="aligncenter" width="1043"]The DeerExpress Club From the left: Mandip Prasai '20, Aayusha Poudel '20, Riwaj Chalise '20, Akankshya Upadhya '18 (President), Maunta Gautam '20; Missing: Rejal Dhakal '19 (Vice-President)[/caption]

Deerwalk Literature Society

  [caption id="attachment_15277" align="aligncenter" width="913"]Dls From the left: Shreeya Sapkota '20, Nischal Badal '20, Aadesh Dhakal '20 (Vice-President), Pranjal Pandey '20, Alisha Pathak '19, Prakriti Shree Tuladhar '18 (President); Missing: Aasha Poudel '18 [/caption]

Hiking and Outdoor Adventures Club

[caption id="attachment_15279" align="aligncenter" width="1006"]Hikiing From the left: Sunita Kunwar '20, Arika Joshi '19, Shreeya Regmi '20, Aashish KC '20, Prayush Shrestha '18 (President), Kriston Pal '20 (Vice-President)[/caption]

Media and Creative Arts Club

[caption id="attachment_15280" align="aligncenter" width="962"]Media From the left: Pemma Tamang '18, Raman Maharjan '18, Basista Ghimire '20, Saras Karanjit '19, Abhishek Khanal '20, Iris Pokharel '19 (Vice-President), Sajak Raj Baidhya '18 (President)[/caption]

Documentary/Movie/Dramatics Club

[caption id="attachment_15288" align="aligncenter" width="759"]Dramatics From the left: Abhishek Khatiwada '18 (President), Jubindra KC '20, Suyog Shrestha '19, Rishitosh Acharya '20, Babin Karki '19, Dipal Malla '19 (Vice-President); Missing: Bimal Thapa '18[/caption]

Music Club

[caption id="attachment_15282" align="aligncenter" width="1013"]Music From the left: Osheen Shrestha '18, Bishal Timalsina '18 (President), Pallavi Ghimire '20, Aawaj Shrestha '20, Tejas Pant '20, Shibesh Duwadi '18 (Vice-President): Missing: Alon Shrestha '20[/caption]

Social Service Club

[caption id="attachment_15283" align="alignnone" width="923"]Social From the left: Bandana Aryal '20, Dheeraj Dhungana '19, Kushal Bista '19 (Vice-President), Kedar Sedai '19, Siddhartha Giri '19, Mallika Bhattarai '18 (President)[/caption]

Software Club

[caption id="attachment_15284" align="aligncenter" width="936"]Software Club From the left: Utkrista KC '18, Biplav Shrestha '18, Suraj Prasain '19, Saurabh Bhandari '19 (Vice-President), Shreyansh Lodha '18 (President), Ajay Bastola '20; Missing: Sabin Pathak '18[/caption]

Sports Club

[caption id="attachment_15291" align="aligncenter" width="960"]sports Members: Sushant Chitrakar '18 (President), Ashim Shrestha '19 (Vice-President), Ujjwol Shrestha '19, Bishal Rawal '19, Nishan Khanal '20, Biplove Khanal '20, Gaurav Thapa '18[/caption]

D.W.I.T News Pvt. Ltd.

[caption id="attachment_15278" align="aligncenter" width="998"]news From the left: Nikita Gatutam '17 (Mentor), Moon Shrestha '20, Aakankshya Shrestha '20, Takdir Bartaula '19, Sweekriti Gautam '19, Shreeya Pandey '19, Giriraj Khatri '19, Sushil Awale '19 (Editor-in-chief), Hitesh Karki (Chairman); Missing: Ashmita Kunwar '17 (Mentor)[/caption] DWIT News wishes all the best to the newly elected presidents and vice-presidents for their successful tenure, and huge congratulations to the all the selected members. Photos Credit: DWIT Administration